There are so many things to do and see in Bundoran and the surrounding Donegal, Sligo area. Here are a few suggestions.
Sligo is home to one of Ireland's most infamous mountain ranges - The Dartry Mountains. Sitting prominently overlooking the Atlantic Ocean is the unusually shaped 'table top' Ben Bulben.
It stands at 1739 feet and was formed during the last ice age, when geomorphological processes began to shape the impressive plateau. Ice began creeping through the valleys and cracks in the rock, the underlying shales were eventually eroded by the movement of the ice above. The shale was eroded faster then the limestone above. This caused the slopes to become steeper and left large overhangs of limestone at the top of the valleys. As the ice began to recede, support for the slopes failed and the land began to slip into the valleys below.
Ben Bulben is incredible to look at any hour of the day. Sunset and sunrise cast different shadows emphasising all the hidden cracks and crevises.
Classiebawn Castle which overlooks the charming resort of Mullaghmore, was built by Lord Mount Temple in 1874. The estate descended to the Mountbattens through the wife of the seventh Earl of Shaftesbury, a step-daughter of the Prime Minister Lord Viscount Palmerston, who resided in the castle and who also built Mullaghmore harbour back in the mid-nineteenth century.
The castle is now privately owned and not open to the public.
Dating from the Neolithic Period, 4000-2500 BC, this site is one of the finest examples of a Court Cairn in Ireland. It has a cairn, entrance passage, an oval court and a double chamber gallery. The Tomb was excavated in 1935 and shortly afterwards restored. The Cairn is wedge shaped and the court (where ritual rites were performed) is some 50 feet in length.
The excavations uncovered four cremation burials, decorated and undecorated Neolithic pottery, flint arrow heads, polished stone axes and other artefacts, including a chalk ball.
This is an amazing site and is strongly recommended that you take the time to visit.
This enchanting waterfall was made famous by W.B. Yeats in his poem, 'The Stolen Child'. It is a romantic little 50ft waterfall nestled in amongst Glencar Lough. There is a path leading up to the waterfall and places for picnics.
Glencar lough is a peaceful place where local wildlife and plant species can be truely appreciated. Perfect for afternoon walks, fishing, relaxing and photography.
Inishmurray Island is located just 4.5 miles off the coast of County Sligo. It is one mile long by a half mile wide.
Although isolated, this small 225 acre island was continuously inhabited from the sixth century. In 1880, Inishmurray was home to 102 people but fell to 46 buy the time of its evacuation in 1948.
Today, Inishmurray Island contains the most complete remains of an early Irish monastic settlement as well as the ruins of its nineteenth century houses. It is home to many fantastic plants and wildlife.
Boat trips out to Inishmurray Island can be arranged.
Lissadell House was the childhood home to the Countess Constance Markievicz, patriot and first woman to be elected to the House of Commons at Westminster, and her sister Eva Gore Booth, suffragette and poet. Lissadell was also the inspirational retreat of William Butler Yeats.
Set amidst the rugged splendour of majestic Ben Bulben and Knocknarea, and fronting the wild Atlanitic Ocean, Lissadell was built in 1833 by Sir Robert Gore-Booth and is a magnificent country house designed by Francis Goodwin in the Greek revival style.
Lissadell is now the family home of an Irish couple and their seven young children.
Driven into Donegal Bay by the storms of September 21st 1588 these three ships of the Spanish Armada, La Lavia, La Juliana and the Santa Maria de Vision, anchored off Streedagh Strand, Co. Sligo. During a further heavy storm on September 25th all three ships were driven ashore and wrecked. Up to 1,100 aboard these ships died cruelly here on Streedagh beach.
One survivor Capt. Francisco de Cuellar wrote an account of his adventures in Sligo, his journey to MacClancy's Castle in Leitrim and his eventual departure from the Causeway Coast of North Antrim.
William Butler Yeats was an Irish poet, dramatist and prose writer. He is said to be one of the greatest English-language poets of the 20th century.
William Butler Yeats was born on June 13, 1865 in Dublin. He spent much of his time between Dublin, Sligo & London. One of his greatest achievements was being awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1923.
He poetry varied from The Wind Among the Reeds (1899), The Green Helmet (1910), Responsibilities (1914), The Wild Swans at Coole (1919), Michael Robartes and the Dancer (1921), The Tower (1928), The Winding Stair and Other Poems (1933), A Full Moon in March (1935), and Last Poems (1939).
Yeats died on the 28th of January, 1939, in Roquebrune, France. He was buried there and, in 1948, his remains were brought back to Sligo to rest, as he had wished, "under bare Ben Bulben's head in Drumcliff churchyard".
Marble Arch Caves
The Marble Arch Caves European Geopark is host to one of Europe's finest showcaves allowing visitors to explore a fascinating, natural underworld of rivers, waterfalls, winding passages and lofty chambers. Lively and informative guides conduct tours past a bewildering variety of cave formations - stalactites glisten above stream ways and chambers while fragile mineral veils and cascades of creamy calcite coat walls and spread as shimmering terraces across rock strewn floors. Spectacular walkways allow easy access while powerful lighting reveals the stunning beauty and grandeur of the caves. Electrically powered boats glide through huge caverns carrying visitors along a subterranean river.
Tours last for 75 minutes and are suitable for people of average fitness. Comfortable walking shoes and a warm sweater are recommended.
Donegal Town Castle
Built by the O'Donnell chieftain in the 15th century, beside the River Eske, the castle has extensive 17th century additions by Sir Basil Brooke.
The castle is furnished throughout and includes Persian rugs and French tapestries. Information panels chronicle the history of the castle owners from the O'Donnell chieftains to the Brooke family.
Limited access for visitors with disabilities to the ground floor.
Established in 1857 Belleek Pottery holds a very special place in the cultural and commercial heritage of County Fermanagh. Nestling on the banks of the River Erne this imposing building is home to the world famous Belleek Fine Parian China and also to one of Irelands top five visitor attractions. The building which, up until 1988, was used to produce Belleek pottery has since been refurbished internally and features a museum, tearoom, video theatre and showroom.